Keystone logo
University Of Zurich

University Of Zurich

University Of Zurich


At a Glance

Since 1833

With its nearly 30,000 enrolled students, the University of Zurich (UZH) is Switzerland's largest university. Founded in the year 1833, UZH was Europe's first university to be established by a democratic political system; today, UZH is one of the foremost universities in the German-speaking world. Made up of seven faculties covering some 100 different subject areas, the University offers a wide variety of Bachelors, Masters and Ph.D. programs. In addition, UZH's continuing education programs offer excellent learning opportunities.

Exceptional Network

As a member of the "League of European Research Universities" (LERU), "Universitas 21" (U21) network and the "Una Europa" alliance, the University of Zurich belongs to Europe's most prestigious research institutions. In 2022, the University of Zurich became a member of "Una Europa", a unique network of 11 of the leading European universities that aims to contribute to a European scientific area through its intensive cooperation.

Numerous distinctions highlight the University's international renown in the fields of medicine, immunology, genetics, neuroscience, and structural biology as well as in economics. To date, the Nobel Prize has been conferred on twelve UZH scholars.

Sharing Knowledge

The academic excellence of the University of Zurich brings benefits to both the public and the private sectors not only in the Canton of Zurich but throughout Switzerland. Knowledge is shared in a variety of ways: in addition to granting the general public access to its twelve museums and many of its libraries, the University makes findings from cutting-edge research available to the public in accessible and engaging lecture series and panel discussions.

Visa Requirements

Students from EU and EFTA countries

Students from EU and EFTA countries need a valid travel document (i.e. passport or identification card) in order to enter Switzerland. For students from the new EU states, interim regulations apply. Please contact the Swiss embassy or consulate in your country for information about the exact procedures that apply for you.

You can find a list of Swiss representations by following the link.

Students from outside the EU and non-EFTA countries

Students form outside the EU and from non-EFTA countries who wish to enter Switzerland for a stay of up to 90 days (within a 180-day period) can apply for a Schengen visa. Please note that this visa is not suitable for full-term exchange students and degree-seeking students who wish to study at the University of Zurich.

You can find more information on the Schengen visa by following this link.


EFMD Equis AccreditedAACSB Accredited


  • Zürich

    Rämistrasse,71, 8006, Zürich